AIA Shanghai

Design Awards 2019

background (1).jpg


AIA Shanghai Design Awards Program is Back!

AIA Shanghai is pleased to announce the second run of our annual awards program. The program celebrates new architecture in China. As an international design awards program, we welcome entries from all AIA members and non-members practicing in China.  

The 2019 AIA Shanghai Design Excellence Awards Program celebrates regional diversity within innovative architecture, interiors and planning projects shaped by architects living, breathing, and working in China regardless of scale, budget, style, or type. The winning Awards will be judged by an international jury comprised of leading figures from around the world, including a unique mixture of mainland and international architects, critics, academics, and theorists.  




background (1).jpg


The Architecture program celebrates the best contemporary architecture regardless of budget, size, style, or type. .


-  Projects must be located in Mainland China.

- Any licensed architects may enter. U.S. license is not required. 

-  New construction, renovations, and restorations are eligible.

-  The project may be single- or multi-building projects. For multi-building projects, evidence must be provided for authorship of the portion in submission.

-  Projects must be completed within last five years or substantially complete by submission deadline. Projects under construction should wait till substantial completion to be eligible.  



Interior Architecture

Recognizes design excellence in building interiors and related architectural work, as well as new and improved approaches to building components and architectural products.


-  Projects must be located in Mainland China.

-  Decoration and furniture projects are not eligible.

- Projects must be completed within last five years or substantially complete by submission deadline.



Urban Design


The Urban Design program recognizes the most compelling work and ideas, both built and unbuilt, in urban design, regional and city planning, and neighborhood development, campus planning, environmental program, or civic improvements.


-   Projects must be located in Mainland China.

-   Individual buildings are not eligible.

-   The project, whether built or unbuilt, must be completed within last five years by submission deadline.




The Unbuilt program celebrates design excellence in unrealized, or theoretical projects. This category recognizes the architect’s in completed meaningful work, but due to any reasons, the project will not be built.


- Projects must be located in Mainland China.

- Eligible entries must be confirmed it will not be realized.

- Projects in competitions or bidding stage at time of the submission deadline are not eligible.

- Projects that are being built but construction on hold are not eligible.



10-Year Award

The 10-Year Award recognizes a building that has set a precedent for the last ten years and continues to set standards of excellence for its architectural design and significance.


-   Project must have been completed before 2009 and located in Mainland China.

-   Project must have been designed by a licensed architect at the time of the project’s completion

-   Project must be in good condition, and not fundamentally altered from its original intent

-   Project must demonstrate excellence in function, both in its original form and by today’s standards. 




1.   The award program is open to both AIA members and non-members. AIA members, regardless of membership types or chapter, must be in good standing to be eligible for member rate.

2. Projects must be located in Mainland China.

3.  Submitting architects do not have to be the head of the team. However, authors of the projects must be acknowledged in submission.

4.   The submitting architect or designers must be either the primary author or a major contributor to the project.  When one Architect is not the sole author of the design, all other participants contributing substantially to the design must be given credit as part of the submission

5.   Projects designed by joint venture or associated architects should be submitted by one member only; credit for all participants is to be noted in the entry form under Collaborative Acknowledgements.

6.   Except for 10-year award, built and unbuilt works must have been completed since January 1, 2014.

7.   Projects can be submitted to more than one category. Entries must demonstrate it meets the requirement of respective category.

8.   Projects previously honored with an award from AIA Shanghai or another AIA Chapter Award are NOT eligible for submission. Projects may NOT be submitted to more than one AIA Chapter simultaneously. Projects which have received an AIA National Award or Region Award, but not a Chapter Award, are eligible for submission.

9.   Work by architects or design firms serving as jurors for current year (2019) awards are ineligible.

10.   Projects will be disqualified if identity of the submitting parties are revealed.

11.   Affiliated professionals in other disciplines interested to submit should contact the architects or designers they collaborated with on the project.

12.  AIA Shanghai reserves the right to determine the eligibility of all submissions.


The deadline for submissions is September 21, 2019 midnight China Standard Time. The deadline will be strictly observed. Winners will be announced at AIA Shanghai award ceremony in early December. Results will not be disclosed to any participants in advance.



Registration Fees

background (1).jpg

Deadline for Early bird registration is August 30, 2019.

2019 aia awards fees.png

How to Submit

background (1).jpg
Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.03.24.png

Sign Up

Click "My Account" and enter your information to register as an applicant


Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.10.21.png

Submit Entry

Click "Submit Entry", then "Click Here to Begin a New Submission".

Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.19.32.png

Registration Info

Enter registration info about your company and AIA membership, if applicable. This must be completed before submitting project information / file uploads. Be sure select the submission category.  If you will be submitting multiple entries, you will repeat this step for each entry.  When you are done with each submission registration, click "Add to Cart".

Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.33.06.png


Payment is required before submitting project files.  You may pay by Wechat / Alipay, Unionpay, or by International Credit Card.  

Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.33.26.png
Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.46.50.png
Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.50.50.png

WeChat Pay / AliPay 

If you select this option, you will be directed to an external page for payment.  Please proceed.  If you are an AIA member, you will be asked for your AIA member number.  We will use this information to verify eligibility for the AIA Member discount.  

IMPORTANT - Once you complete payment with this option, please return to the previous tab to complete the submission process.  When you return to the awards submission page, click "Process" to complete payment. 


If you pay by WeChat / AliPay / UnionPay, your payment will be confirmed by us later, thus it may show as "Unpaid" in the awards system.  You will still be able to submit project, even if this is marked as unpaid.   If you submit a project but we do not receive your payment, we will contact you. 

Screenshot 2018-06-18 11.53.15.png

Submit Entry

After you have finished payment, you will be directed to complete the forms for submission of each entry.  This includes project descriptions, information about materials, architect, completion date, etc.  Each one will be submitted separately.

If you have any questions, please email


More Announcements to Come

background (1).jpg